Thwing & Octon Parish Councillors

Councillors areas of Responsibilities and Committees

Councillor's areas of Responsibilities and sub committees    


Cllr E Peacock Chairman 07792 398320 Defibrillator caretaker  
Cllr A A Frost   01262 470496 Roads, Highways and street scene  
Cllr G Coe   07860 656826 Grievance Officer  
Mrs S Morrison Clerk 01262 470496    





List of Councillors



Edward Peacock         Chair                      Octon Lodge Farm            Seamer Road             Octon         YO253BJ                           07792398320

Andrew Frost                                               The Grange                        Main Street                Thwing       YO25 3DY                          01262  470496

Timothy Lancaster                                     Laburnum Cottage            Church Lane              Thwing       YO25 3DU                         07864 328164

Patrick Burdass            Vice Chair             Pear Tree Farm                 Wold Newton Rd      Thwing       YO25 3DT

Gavin Coe                                                     Keepers Cottage               Octon                                             YO25  3BJ                          07860656826

Janet Carter                                                 Willow Cottage                 Main Street               Thwing       YO25  3DS                          07873 480713

Joy Blott                                                       Church Cottage                 Church Lane              Thwing       YO25 3DX                           01262 470358

Parish Clerk

​Sandra Morrison                                            The Grange                      Main Street              Thwing        YO25 3DY                           01262 470496


Election of Councillors

Our chairman and vice chairman are elected every year at our annual meeting held in May. Parish Councillors are elected every 4 years and the next election year is 2023

Casual vacancies can sometimes occur during the period and when this occurs, the Clerk should inform Electoral Services at the Principal Authority.  Electoral Services will put notices up (or send them to the Clerk to put up) advertising the vacancy.
The notice allows for a period of 14 days in which 10 people can call for an election.  If so called, an election must be held within 60 days of the notice of the vacancy, otherwise there can be a co-option. (Rule 8 of the Local Elections (Parishes and Communities) Rules 1986).   


We currently have 2 vacancies for a parish councillor  and if you wish to be considered for co-option please enquire to the clerk Sandra Morrison The Grange, Main Street, Thwing, YO25 3DY Tel 01262 470496 Councillor's introduction Guide 


The attached Being a Good Councillor Guide may also be useful



Ward Councillors

Thwing & Octon form part of the East Wolds and Coastal Ward which covers 21 villages and has a population of approx. 14, 650. Our ward Councillors are Jane Evison Portfolio holder for Economy Investment, Tourism and Health, Jonathon Owen (Deputy Leader of ERYC) and Charlie Dewhirst.


Councillor Vacancy  

We currently have 2 vacancies.  If you are interested in helping us improve and maintain the parish for the benefit of the community, please apply

to Sandra Morrison on 01262 470496


Thwing & Octon Parish Council is a member of East Riding and North Lincolnshire Local Council Association (ERNLLCA)

The East Riding and Northern Lincolnshire Local Councils Association, known as ERNLLCA, is an independent body which supports parish and town councils in the North Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire and the East Riding of Yorkshire. There is an equivalent organisation for each “shire county” area or equivalent in the country and all of these bodies, which are known as County Associations, join together as members of the National Association of Local Councils, or as it is more commonly known, NALC.

Our representatives for the ERNLLCA District Committee meetings are Cllr David McDermott and Cllr Andrew Frost

ERNLLCA (and its predecessor organisation, the Humberside Association of Parish and Town Councils) has been serving parish and town councils, and parish meetings, since 1974. 

Through ERNLLCA we have access to relevant legal information, we are kept abreast and updated on new legislation and are able to access training and improvement through management and development for councillors and staff.